Web Listings Inc.: Search Engine Submission Scam


Last night, I got an interesting letter. Since I bought NickiHicks.com a few months ago (and have since proceeded to do nothing with it), the kind folks at a company called Web Listings Inc. offered to help me list my web site on the 20 major search engines for my 8 best keywords! Rich has received similar letters before, but this is my first.

search-engine-submission-scam

I feel sorry for this company. They probably didn’t know…I do this for a living. So, let’s break down why this is bogus – and hopefully I’ve caught you in time before you gave Web Listings Inc. $65.

The promise: Domain Name Submission to 20 established Search Engines

Let me be frank. You don’t need to submit yourself to the search engines. If your web site is clean, readable, and doesn’t block the search engines, they’ll find you.

Just for giggles, which search engines would you get submitted to?

Google, Aol, ExactSeek, Cipinet, Netscape Search, Alexa, ScrubTheWeb, InfoTiger, Kazazz, Jayde, Searchsight, Amfibi *

Interesting. I’ve only heard of three. And only one even counts. What’s more?

* Any of the 20 search engines are subject to change without notice

…to start including even more search engines we haven’t heard of?

The promise: Up to 8 keyword/phrase listings

I don’t know what that means. In their FAQ section, Web Listings Inc. talks about meta-tags. But they’re not getting access to your site, so I can only assume they’re using these keywords for tracking purposes for…

The promise: Quarterly search engine position and ranking reports

This is the one piece that may…or may not have value. At flyte, we track rankings, but do they really matter that much? Not so much.

My hope is not to bash this company; but rather to make people aware of the issue before you go spending your precious money on something entirely ridiculous. And for what it’s worth, I’m not the only one talking about it.

Nicki Hicks
At least they say it’s a solicitation

Tags: , ,

  • http://chrisarkwright.com Chris Arkwright

    Yeah, I got one of those letters in my company’s mail 3 days ago… Shred & Recycle.

  • http://www.quickersubmitter.com Website Submission

    You are right no need to submit your site to search engine because even you will not do that search will find sure in its natural way.submitting to search engine may harm your website.

  • http://www.misplacedyank.com Todd Fleming

    I too received one of these letters but it seems they’ve raised their price to $85.00. As I know a bit about how search engines work I knew right away that it’s a scam. I hope people look up this site before sending in hard earned money.

  • http://ciaoenrico.com/2010/12/13/beware-web-listings-inc-scam/ ciaoenrico

    I just got the same letter this week. After some research, it appears people have been writing about these letters for a while, too. That’s what’s really sad – because a lot of people must be falling for it.

  • http://www.flyte.biz Nicki

    Sad, but true. Hopefully more people will check them out online first!

  • Peter M

    I got my letter today. As I told my wife, these guys prey on big companies where the web department and the financial dept. is in two different places – so basically the invoice will get paid, since the guys in the finance dept. have no clue what the website invoice is about. :) These scam companies have been around for a loooooong time – but, i am surprised that they are not getting closed down or fined by the BBB.

  • http://www.adamcos.com Adam

    Got one of those today and yes they increased their price to $85. I guess the reason they don’t get shut down is that they write on it that it’s not a bill and that there is no obligation to pay.

    Nevertheless it’s highly deceptive and they are creating bad karma for themselves.

  • Deotis

    Today I got my solicitation. After being scamed a few times I have come to realize that information network support from people like yourself is a gold mine in itself. Thank all of you for your comments and what you do to protect new internet users like myself.

  • http://www.flyte.biz Nicki

    Deotis,

    No problem, glad you checked online before you sent in a check :)

    Nicki

  • http://vanceairandheat.com James

    I also received a solicitation for the $85.00 payment in the mail. Glad you guys enlightened me before i sent the money.

  • http://vanceairandheat.com James

    I think i will report these guys to the Texas Attorney General’s Office. This hurts all business owners.

  • http://www.flyte.biz Nicki

    James,

    Glad you checked online before you did anything! And reporting them might not be a bad idea!

    Nicki

  • http://www.inklingsinwood.com ben mclellan

    Thanks guys. but if people just use their heads a little, they should be able to figure this sort of thing out for themselves.

  • http://www.flyte.biz Nicki

    Ben,

    One would hope so. But it seems they’re still in business, so someone’s still buying! :)



Switch to our mobile site